Quick Links

BURSARIES/PROGRAMS

Our Regional Health Authorities are very focused on recruiting YOU - Memorial University Medical Students and Post-Graduate Residents. One reason is the quality of the contribution you are already making to the health care system in this province. Secondly, our statistics consistently prove that retention of physicians in the province is strongly influenced by our ability to attract NL graduates and residents. Early discussions with the Vice President of Medical Services about practicing throughout the province upon completion of your training are important and very necessary. Contact with Regional Recruiters is encouraged.

For more information visit the Department of Health and Community Services website


KEY CONTACTS:

Provincial Physician Recruitment Office/Bursaries

Daniel Fitzgerald
P.O. Box 8700, St. John’s, Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada, A1B 4J6
Telephone (709)729-4029, Facsimile (709)729-5238
Email: Danielfitzgerald@gov.nl.ca


REGIONAL HEALTH AUTHORITIES
Eastern Health

c/o Administration, Health Sciences Centre 300 Prince Phillip Drive St. John’s, NL A1B 3V6
www.easternhealth.ca

Tracy Hedd, Administrative Officer (Carbonear Site)
Tel: (709) 945-5344; Fax: (709) 945-5158) 
tracy.hedd@easternhealth.ca


Nancy Avery, Administrative Officer (Clarenville Site)
Tel: (709)466-5328; Fax: (709)466-5456 
nancy.avery@easternhealth.ca

Jennifer Slaney, Administrative Officer (Burin Site)
Tel: (709) 891-3377; Fax: (709)891-3375 
Jennifer.slaney@easternhealth.ca

Central Health
c/o Central Newfoundland Regional Health Centre
Grand Falls-Windsor, NL A2H 2E1
Fax: (709) 292-2249
www.centralhealth.nl.ca

Dr. Jeff Cole, VP, Medical Services
jeff.cole@centralhealth.nl.ca

Janelle Hillier, Regional Director, Medical Services   
Tel: (709) 292-2450
janelle.hillier@centralhealth.nl.ca

Natalie Nichols
Tel: (709)256-5604; Fax: (709) 256-5449
Natalie.Nichols@centralhealth.nl.ca

Western Health
c/o Western Memorial Regional Hospital
P.O. Box 2005 Corner Brook, NL A2H 6J7
Fax: (709) 637-5063
www.westernhealth.nl.ca

Dr. Dennis Rashleigh, VP, Medical Services
Email: dennisrashleigh@westernhealth.nl.ca

Sarah Rousseau, Regional Physician Recruitment Coordinator  
Tel: (709) 637-5000, Ext. 5168
Email: sarahrousseau@westernhealth.nl.ca

Lavina Hiscock, Staffing Officer (LOCUMS ONLY)
Tel: (709) 637-5000, Ext. 5429
lavinahiscock@westernhealth.nl.ca 

Labrador-Grenfell
P.O. Box 190, Stn. A Happy Valley-Goose Bay, NL A0P 1S0
Fax: (709) 896-4062
www.lghealth.ca  

Dr. Michael Jong, VP, Medical Services
Tel: (709) 897-2268 
Email: mjong@hvgb.net

Gabe Woollam, Regional Physician Recruitment Coordinator
Tel: (709) 897-2364
Email: gabe.woollam@lghealth.ca

Angela Elliott, Administrative Officer (St. Anthony site) 
Tel: (709) 454-0127 
Email: angela.elliott@lghealth.ca