Quick Links

BURSARIES/PROGRAMS

Our Regional Health Authorities are very focused on recruiting YOU - Memorial University Medical Students and Post-Graduate Residents. One reason is the quality of the contribution you are already making to the health care system in this province. Secondly, our statistics consistently prove that retention of physicians in the province is strongly influenced by our ability to attract NL graduates and residents. Early discussions with the Vice President of Medical Services about practicing throughout the province upon completion of your training are important and very necessary. Contact with Regional Recruiters is encouraged.

For more information visit the Department of Health and Community Services website


KEY CONTACTS:

Provincial Physician Recruitment Office/Bursaries

Daniel Fitzgerald
P.O. Box 8700, St. John’s, Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada, A1B 4J6
Telephone (709)729-4029, Facsimile (709)729-5238
Email: Danielfitzgerald@gov.nl.ca


REGIONAL HEALTH AUTHORITIES

Eastern Health

c/o Administration, Health Sciences Centre 300 Prince Phillip Drive St. John’s, NL A1B 3V6
www.easternhealth.ca

Dr. Lawrence Alteen, VP, Medical Services
Tel:  (709) 777-1308 
E-mail: lawrence.alteen@easternhealth.ca

Janelle Hillier, Director, Medical Services
Tel:  (709) 777-6196; Fax: (709) 777-2180
E-mail: janelle.hillier@easternhealth.ca

Wendy Snow, Regional Physician Recruiter
Tel:  (709) 777-4223; Fax: (709) 777-2180
E-mail: wendya.snow@easternhealth.ca 

Tracy Hedd, Administrative Officer (Carbonear Site)
Tel: (709) 945-5344; Fax: (709) 945-5158) 
E-mail: tracy.hedd@easternhealth.ca 

Nancy Avery, Administrative Officer (Clarenville Site)
Tel: (709)466-5328; Fax: (709) 466-5456 
E-mail:  nancy.avery@easternhealth.ca 

Jennifer Slaney, Administrative Officer (Burin Site)
Tel: (709) 891-3377; Fax: (709)891-3375 
E-mail:  jennifer.slaney@easternhealth.ca 

Central Health
c/o Central Newfoundland Regional Health Centre
Grand Falls-Windsor, NL A2H 2E1
Fax: (709) 292-2249
www.centralhealth.nl.ca

Dr. Martin Vogel, VP, Medical Services
Tel:  (709) 292-2151
E-mail:  martin.vogel@centralhealth.nl.ca
 
Melanie Hewlett, Acting Regional Director, Medical Services   
Tel: (709) 292-2450
E-mail: melanie.hewlett@centralhealth.nl.ca 

Natalie Nichols, Regional Physician Recruitment Manager
Tel: (709) 292-8757; Fax: (709) 292-2645
E-mail: natalie.nichols@centralhealth.nl.ca   

Abigail Lush, Regional Physician Recruitment Manager
Tel:  (709) 256-6282;  Fax:  (709) 256-7800
E-mail: abigail.lush@centralhealth.nl.ca 

Western Health
c/o Western Memorial Regional Hospital
P.O. Box 2005 Corner Brook, NL A2H 6J7
Fax: (709) 637-5063
www.westernhealth.nl.ca

Dr. Dennis Rashleigh, VP, Medical Services
Tel: (709) 784-5168
Email:  dennisrashleigh@westernhealth.nl.ca   

Jonathan Andrews, Regional Director, Medical Services
Tel: (709) 784-6702
E-mail:  jonathanandrews@westernhealth.nl.ca 

Sarah Rousseau, Regional Permanent Physician Recruitment Manager   
Tel: (709) 709-784-6432
Email: sarahrousseau@westernhealth.nl.ca   

Lavina Hiscock, Locum Physician Recruiter 
Tel: (709) 784-5429
E-mail: lavinahiscock@westernhealth.nl.ca    

Labrador-Grenfell
P.O. Box 190, Stn. A Happy Valley-Goose Bay, NL A0P 1S0
Fax: (709) 896-4062
www.lghealth.ca

Dr. Gabe Woollam, VP, Medical Services 
Tel: (709) 897-2268
Email: gabe.woollam@lghealth.ca   

Angela Elliott, Administrative Officer (St. Anthony site) 
Tel: (709) 454-0127 
Email: angela.elliott@lghealth.ca