Room to Grow | Our Health Care System

Quick Links

Canada's national health insurance program, often referred to as "Medicare", is designed to ensure that all residents have reasonable access to medically necessary hospital and physician services, on a prepaid basis. Respective provincial and territorial governments are responsible for the management, organization and delivery of health services for their residents.

In Newfoundland and Labrador, the provincial Department of Health and Community Services provides support services to four Regional Health Authorities (RHAs) to enable them to deliver quality programs and services to the residents of Newfoundland and Labrador. Each RHA is responsible for the delivery of programs and services for their geographic area: Eastern, Central, Western and Labrador - Grenfell. Programs and services include Health Promotion, Disease Prevention, Acute Care and Community Corrections, Community Support Services, Addictions, Mental Health and Long Term Care.