Twillingate

Location

Twillingate is located on the scenic northeast coast of Newfoundland. From the west take route 340 at Lewisporte. From the east take route 330 and 331 via Gander or 320 at Gambo to connect with 340 at Boyd's Cove Gander to Twillingate 100 km.

History

Twillingate derives its name from the French name Toulinquet. This name was given to the islands by French fisherman, who saw the similarity between the Islands and a group of Islands off the French coast. The first human habitation of Twillingate is known to have been around 1500 B.C. Artifacts discovered in 1965 showed that the area was used by the Maritime Indians, a pre-Beothuk people. The first recorded settlers settled the area around 1700. At that time, the heavily wooded island was occupied by bands of Beothuk Indians.   Twillingate was the home of the famous operatic singer Miss Georgina Stirling (Miss Toulinguet). A monument stands in her memory in the Anglican cemetery behind the Twillingate Museum.

Unique Characteristics

Twillingate is now a thriving community with a population of about 5000 people and Twillingate district has approximately 16,800 people. It has been linked to the mainland of Newfoundland by a causeway since 1973. Twillingate provides numerous attractions and activities for tourists. Two museums, several old churches, fine examples of folk-architecture and an old lighthouse can be seen, as well as two fine parks and numerous beautiful beaches. For the history buff, Twillingate is an excellent place to study; for the photographer or rock-hound, a paradise; and for those just wanting a change 'to get away from it all' - come visit us.

Population

Approximately 5,000